Getting Laid-Off Can Be A Positive New Beginning

Hillside flowers!Jody with the bouquet of flowers that were mailed home to her after she accepted
her job offer at Hillside. She said it was great to feel wanted by the company.

Meet Jody. She worked at her previous company for over 23 years before she was let go, and was unemployed for five months prior to accepting her job offer at Hillside Family of Agencies. Rather than spending this time feeling discouraged, Jody says that she was able to take the time to prepare for a new position by treating her job search as a full-time job. She spent 40-60 hours per week networking, attending RochesterWorks! workshops, and utilizing her resources to focus on herself and obtain a position that she truly desired. Read Jody’s interview to learn how she did it:

1) What was the biggest challenge you faced being unemployed?
Being patient. I was very eager to return to work and my energy, attitude and focus were very positive. I had to let the process unfold and I am by nature a very impatient person. Overall, I really enjoyed the job search process. My job search became my full-time job. It was a time to reflect on myself, who I am and what I want.

2) Which job search methods did you use?
☒Internet Postings, ☒Agencies, ☒Networking
Social Media, classes at the Fairport Public Library and RochesterWorks!
Career Navigator was really great. It came at a good time for me and was a chance to re-energize my job search. I really liked the structure of Career Navigator, I craved what I had at work. It was nice to come in five days a week and re-evaluate my marketing plan and targeted companies.

3) What tips do you have for job-seekers to help increase their success and shorten their length of unemployment?
Focus on the search, be organized. Utilize a daily to do list, in other words make your job search your job and invest at least 40 hours a week. Networking is absolutely critical. Take time every day to get out of the house and meet at least once person. Enjoy the journey to self-discovery and your next job. If you focus solely on finding a job you are setting yourself up for disappointment and frustration as this will take time. If you establish milestone goals that are within your control and attainable you will feel a sense of accomplishment which will help you maintain positive energy.

4) How did RochesterWorks! Help you in finding your new position?
Annie Walker’s sessions at the Fairport Library were extremely valuable. Her knowledge, energy and stories were inspiring. I attended workshops on Networking, Resume Writing, Marketing Plans, the Over 40 series, and Negotiating Your Job Offer. I also participated in Hanna Morgan’s Career Navigator which was outstanding.

5) How did the job Network help you in finding your new position?
Networking was the foundation and core of my search. I met with @ least 10 people a week to grow my network. I leveraged friends, neighbors, former co-workers and often perfect strangers. I was amazed at how generous people were with their time, resources and contacts. I re-connected with old friends and met some incredible new people with whom I plan to remain networked. It was by far the most enjoyable and rewarding part of my journey.

6) If you had to do it over again, what would you do differently in your job search?
Exercise more patience. Spend less time on my resume. This piece of paper alone didn’t open doors for me or get me a job. It was one small element of the process. Spend more time networking and meeting with people so that I could create energy and sell myself. Understand that it takes time, enjoy the journey. I rarely had the chance to be selfish, but this was the time to do it. It was good to have time off to focus on myself and my goals. I promised myself to take advantage of the opportunity and not to be afraid. I saw this as an opportunity rather than a disappointment.

7) What led to your success?
I did! My can do attitude, commitment to the process, sincere passion and confidence coupled with good planning and execution. I promised myself I’d embrace my transition as the great opportunity it was and that is exactly what I did!!! “If it’s to be it’s up to me!”

8) Do you have any other words of advice for job-seekers?
Don’t be afraid or embarrassed to ask for help – networking is fun and a very effective way to learn about opportunities. Practice the 4 P’s:
(1) Positive attitude
(2) Healthy Perspective
(3) Persevere
(4) Be Patient
Once you land pay it forward!!! Become a helpful person to others in need. Enjoy the journey, it was a gift.

