Layoff Turns Positive by Building Confidence and Clarifying Goals

ImageJanise
Workshop Participant

For Janise, news of a layoff hit very close to home. As one of the first two hundred employees to be laid off at a large manufacturing company in Rochester, Janise hit the ground running as a self-motivated job seeker. Her initiative brought her to RochesterWorks! based on a recommendation from a friend.

 Janise took advantage of every opportunity to learn and apply the knowledge of her instructors in every workshop. From Job Search Management to Link Up with LinkedIn and “Right” Your Resume to Resume Review, Janise found the staff’s encouragement and feedback priceless in bringing her up to speed in the job search process. The staff, according to Janise, made workshop material “fun, simple and doable.” Practical advice complementing course material enabled Janise to take information from the workshops and apply it on her own.

 Throughout this experience, Janise discovered that job searching is not about what you know, but rather who you know. It was through this network that Janise was introduced to an opportunity as an Office Manager for Klein Steel. 

Janise is an incredible example to job seekers and an encouragement to the hundreds of people in our community that have been effected by layoffs. Take the time to learn more about Janise and find out about her challenges, how she overcame them, and what advice she has for job seekers.

Keep reading for Janise’s full interview!

Q: What was the biggest challenge you faced in being unemployed?

A:  I lacked the confidence I needed to effectively search for a new job. I learned that I needed to be able to clearly communicate what type of position I was looking for and how my strengths could benefit an employer. I also discovered that I needed to refine my resume strategy because I had more to put in my resume than would fit.

 Q: What job search methods did you use?

A:  I took full advantage of internet postings, recruiting agencies, networking, and job fairs.

Q: What tips do you have for job seekers to help increase their success and shorten their length of unemployment?

A:  It’s not so much about what you know, but who you know that counts. If you are positive and can articulate what you bring to a position, others can help connect you to those who are hiring.

Q: How did RochesterWorks! help you in finding your new position?

A: Annie Walker, a Career Services Advisor at RochesterWorks!, instilled confidence in me when I attended her workshops, even though I was just one in a room full of job seekers. That confidence made all the difference.  She helped me to clarify what I was looking for and pointed out what strengths I should highlight.
“Right” Your Resume and Resume Review helped me prepare a stronger resume and answered a lot of my questions. I had a good start on my resume, thanks to a friend and a former co-worker, but it needed to be refined to be more effective. In addition to the resume workshops, I found that the 45-Second Commercial form included in the Job Search Management handout helped me to clearly introduce myself at job fairs. After hearing my 45-Second Commercial, many people even said that they wished they had a position so they could hire me—even before looking at my resume!

 Q: How did you find your new position?

A:   A former colleague who is great at networking and who knew me and my work introduced me to my current employer. She suggested to someone she knew that he hire me for a position that hadn’t even been officially created. I still had to interview and convince them I was the person for the job, but if she hadn’t suggested me, the position probably still wouldn’t exist.

 Q: If you had to do it over again, what would you do differently in your job search?

A: I would have given myself permission to take a few days to regroup after I lost my job instead of panicking and starting my job search without a good plan or a refined resume. Then, instead of trying to figure out things on my own, I would have started taking workshops sooner to learn how to best go about my job search and prepare my resume.

Q: What led to your success?

A:  The people that I knew, as well as those that knew me led to my success. These people instilled a confidence in me. They also helped me to refine my resume.  One concept that I appreciated from a workshop helped me to create a master resume that I could customize for every application.

Q: Do you have any other words of advice for job seekers?

A:  Attend the workshops, go home, and apply what you learned! Remember to be proud of your past work experience. Having worked in a respected company means something in the community. Stay connected with your former coworkers, and be willing to help each other out along the way.

Click Here For more information about RochesterWorks! and the programs available to you, then visit our Career Center! Our services are free and walk-in’s are welcome. You do not need to be unemployed to participate. You just need to be a RochesterWorks! member.

 

 

