RochesterWorks! Worked for Me: Learn How a Persistent, Positive Outlook Changed Pam’s Job Strategy and Motivated Her Success!

ImagePam
Career Navigator and 5 Steps to Rapid Employment Graduate

 

Today’s job seeker faces competition and challenges like never before! Pam’s answer to these challenges came through the programs at RochesterWorks! From workshops to the 5 Steps and Career Navigator programs, Pam learned how to manage unemployment and maintain a positive and efficient job campaign.

Learning to look inside herself and help others in similar situations taught Pam that networking is not a strategy, but a way of life. In fact, it was networking that opened the door to her position as a Call Center Manager for Anthony Jordan Health Center.

Finding employment requires patience and perseverance. Pam took the initiative to apply concepts and advice from every program she attended at RochesterWorks!. The concepts and skills that she learned gave her a fresh perspective that continues today! Pam realized that finding employment, while a goal, is not the only goal for the programs at RochesterWorks! Their goal is to motivate people to be successful in life—in their career or otherwise.

Pam’s experience at RochesterWorks! demonstrates the value of a personal learning initiative. The decision to come to RochesterWorks! changed her strategy from a job search to a career campaign.  Her success provides a fresh perspective that can help job seekers today!

Keep reading Pam’s full interview to learn about her experience and advice for job seekers!

Q: What was the biggest challenge you faced in being unemployed?

A:  My biggest challenge was persevering through it. It seemed to take forever and I found it difficult, but necessary, to maintain a positive and efficient job campaign.

Q: What job search methods did you use?

A:  In looking for a job I used a variety of methods. I found openings online, at recruiting events, and through employment agencies and networking. During workshops, I learned to use every resource available to me. Not every opening is published on the web. Networking, in the end, opened the door to the job that I have now.

 Q: What tips do you have for job seekers to help increase their success and shorten their length of unemployment?

A: Find a balance that works for you and your desired outcome. Keep in mind, networking is for life. You never know when you next opportunity will appear!

 Q: How did RochesterWorks! help you in finding your new position?

A:  RochesterWorks! provided me with the latest tools, workshops, and programs to be up-to-date in today’s competitive job market. The professional staff members are empathetic and giving. They understand the challenges of the journey and help you to explore future opportunities.

Q: How did RochesterWorks! help you find your new position?

A: The Job Strategy Group reinforced concepts that I had learned in workshops by providing fresh perspectives on relevant topics and exercises to help me apply what I was learning. Career Navigator, in particular, introduced me to people that I still communicate with today. We were a team, all with varying goals and backgrounds, but a team nonetheless. I truly enjoyed the camaraderie and encouragement that the programs facilitated.

 Q: If you had to do it over again, what would you do differently in your job search?

A: If I were to start over I would set specific goals, start the process sooner, and begin networking right away. I always thought of myself as an outgoing person, but the more that I learned about networking, the more I realized that I still had a lot to learn.

Q: What led to your success?

A: My success in finding a job through the programs at RochesterWorks! came from a lot of hard work. Looking inside myself and finding the motivation to work through the process helped me to share my experiences with others. Attending seminars and job search programs motivated me to stay active and keep working hard to achieve my goals!

 Q: Do you have any other words of advice for job seekers?

A:  Look at the process as an opportunity to grow and learn more about yourself, not as a job search. Find your passion and be open to using that passion in different environments. Also, don’t be afraid to reach out to people and help them in return! You will never know how helping someone could change your perspective and motivate you to keep working hard.

Click here for more information about RochesterWorks! and the programs available to you. Our services are free and walk-in’s are welcome. You do not need to be unemployed to participate. You just need to be a RochesterWorks! member.

 

