Continuity Compels Motivation and Success

Image
Gary, 5 Steps to Rapid Employment Graduate

Managing a specialized job search in a competitive job market drives many job seekers to a fork in the road where they must choose either to branch out or to continue in their specialized field. For some, this fork leads them to pursue training in a new industry. For others, it drives their motivation, opening up new possibilities and a willingness to be flexible and open in the pursuit of their dreams.

For Gary, his decision to pursue his passion in the area of Business Continuity drove every decision thereafter in the entirety of his job campaign. As an RIT graduate with an extended career managing IT systems to handle outages while ensuring data accessibility and protection, Gary took full advantage of the programs available to him at RochesterWorks. From workshops to 5 Steps to Rapid Employment, Gary took the initiative to learn and apply something new every day.

Throughout his job search, Gary’s dedication to excellence and to his field motivated his success. Today, this drive continues to motivate his commitment as the Disaster Readiness Program Manager for MVP Health Care.

Keep Reading to Learn More about Gary’s Experience at RochesterWorks and Learn from His Advice for Your Own Job Search!

Q: What was the biggest challenge you faced in being unemployed?
A:  One of the biggest challenges that I faced while being unemployed was finding jobs that matched my specialized experience and skill set. It had been almost 19 years since I had looked for work, so adjusting to the new way of job searching and managing all of the technological changes was difficult. Throughout the process I learned many things that I never thought I would need to know.

Q: What job search methods did you use?
A:  Throughout my job search I connected with local agencies and recruiters along with former colleagues to apply for jobs online as well as through networking.

Q: What tips do you have for job seekers to help increase their success and shorten their length of unemployment?
A:  Remain positive and devote as much time as possible to your job search. Start networking, taking RochesterWorks training, working with recruiters, and updating your LinkedIn profile right away and just keep at it.

Q: How did RochesterWorks! help you in finding your new position?
A: One of the major ways that RochesterWorks helped me to find my job was through the 5 Steps to Rapid Employment program. The coaches and the information that they present are motivational and positive. I learned something new every time! The light really came on for me when I realized that the key is to get to the Hiring Manager. I also learned the importance of putting together a 30-60-90 day plan and found out why sending thank you notes to your interviewers helps you to stand out.
The details do matter. In online job searching everyone is going after the same positions—you have to stand out to get the job. Now that I have a job, I continue to learn and stay connected through the 5 Steps Campaign meetings.
Not only did I get involved in the 5 Steps program, but I also took some of the workshops that are available at RochesterWorks. Link Up with LinkedIn, in particular, helped me to use and update my profile more often. I learned that it’s important to update your LinkedIn profile at least once a week. It keeps your profile up-to-date yet it doesn’t take a lot of time. I actually received a phone call from a recruiter that was interested in meeting with me after only viewing my profile. Even though the position wasn’t right for me, it definitely proved to me that LinkedIn works.

Q: How did you find your new position?
A:   I first heard about my job online, then when I attended an August Group networking meeting at Medaille College I asked if anyone had any connections with MVP Health Care. Someone was able to connect me with the Hiring Manager and here I am today!

Q: If you had to do it over again, what would you do differently in your job search?
A: If I had to start over, I would embrace all of the methods of job searching as early as possible in the process. I really didn’t know about many of them until I started learning about the “new” way of job hunting.

Q: What led to your success?
A:  I never gave up and I tried to stay positive which at times was difficult.  I started networking with multiple groups and took seminars and training through RochesterWorks and through online programs and local libraries. There are a lot of great opportunities here in Rochester to work with groups and people that are sincerely interested in helping you find work. You don’t find that in many other cities.

Q: Do you have any other words of advice for job seekers?
A:  Believe in yourself and that the right job will come along—even when you are sure that it won’t. Focus on the results that you want, put together all of the pieces, and stay connected with people that are there to help you.

Click Here for more information about RochesterWorks! and the programs available to you, then visit our Career Center! Our services are free and walk-in’s are welcome. You do not need to be unemployed to participate. You just need to be a RochesterWorks! member.

 

