Creativity—the Key to Career Confidence!

Daryl_RochesterWorksDaryl, Job Search Workshop Participant

For working parents, juggling the needs of a family and a career can be complicated. The key to managing this process, as Daryl discovered, is creativity. Taking the time to discover your needs, outline your goals, and proactively prepare to begin your search makes all the difference in the effectiveness and efficiency of your job campaign.

Filling in the gap of self-confidence with workshops and programs, Daryl’s focus and creativity blossomed at RochesterWorks! Today, as a tax preparer at a large accounting firm and an assistant at a local catering company, Daryl manages her life the same way she managed her job search—with creativity and confidence—as she balances the needs of her family with the needs of a career.

Keep Reading to Learn about Daryl’s Experience at RochesterWorks! and Learn Techniques to Inspire Your Own Creativity.

Q: What was the biggest challenge you faced in being unemployed?
A: When I first came to RochesterWorks! it had been nearly 20 years since I had formally looked for work. Knowing that many things have changed since then, I was nervous about the process. I knew that I could do the job. It was a question of getting in the door and being able to sell myself.

Q: What job search methods did you use?
A: Initially, I made a list of about 2 dozen companies to target and scheduled meetings with people to help me better understand my goals. I primarily used the internet and networking for my job search.

Q: What tips do you have for job seekers to help increase their success and shorten their length of unemployment?
A: Network everywhere, but don’t just talk to people in your field. You never know who may know someone that may be able to help. I discovered that a fellow parent at a school open house knew someone at a firm I had applied to. When I followed up, she was happy to forward my resume to her friend, who also talked to me about working there. I did end up working there, and it was an excellent opportunity speaking with her, because my impressions of the people I met at my interview matched her very positive descriptions. Focus on jobs and apply, but be prepared to apply before you send in an application. You only get one chance to make a good first impression. Every part of your job search matters. I took the time to make sure that I had answers for any interview questions regarding my resume.

Q: How did RochesterWorks! help you in finding your new position?
A: Where do I start? I can’t believe that there are people who don’t use it or know about RochesterWorks! When I came in I hadn’t conducted a real job search in about 20 years. The staff helped me to fill in the gap of self-confidence that I needed to be prepared for a job search.

I took several workshops including Basic Resume, Resume Review, Right Your Resume, Catchy Cover Letters, Kick Start Your Job Search, and Negotiating Your Job Offer. The resume workshops with Annie Walker were especially invaluable. In every workshop we were asked to give our 45-second commercial. This built my confidence and helped me to practice connecting with people.

The Link Up with LinkedIn workshop at Waring Road was also a big help. Before the workshop I hadn’t started using LinkedIn. Others that had taken it recommended that I familiarize myself with the site and set up a “skeleton” version of my profile before coming to the workshop.

Q: How did you find your new position?
A:  When I first registered as a RochesterWorks! member in September I saw my current position listed on the website. I went right to work attending workshops and when I felt my resume, and myself, were ready, I looked again and was fortunate that it had just been re-posted.

Q: If you had to do it over again, what would you do differently in your job search?
A: Be less nervous! I think I over-prepared for interviews which were actually more welcoming and relaxed than I had expected. I had interviews and offers before I finished my list of target companies. I originally thought that once the resume was done I was ready to go, but applying online and going through the process took time for each company.

Q: What led to your success?
A: The confidence that I developed throughout this process helped me to be successful. I knew that I could do the job, but I needed the confidence to communicate that with employers. With 19 years of experience and my interest in seasonal work turned out to be a rare commodity with 3 interviews landing 3 job offers.

Q: Do you have any other words of advice for job seekers?
A: Use your resume and cover letter to put your best impression out there and network, network, network. Don’t shut doors on yourself and be creative to find what works best for you. Many people assume that you have to work full-time or not at all. If you have special circumstances ask them and see what you get. You may be surprised at their answer.

Click Here For more information about RochesterWorks! and the programs available to you, then visit our Career Center! Our services are free and walk-in’s are welcome. You do not need to be unemployed to participate. You just need to be a RochesterWorks! member.

 

One thought on “Creativity—the Key to Career Confidence!

Comments are closed.