Targeting: the Key to an Efficient Job Search

DSCN1237

Valerie
5 Steps Graduate & Workshop Participant

According to Valerie, the key to a successful job search is targeting—not roles, but organizations where you would be a good fit. Recognizing this fact Valerie came to RochesterWorks! for help. It was here that her job search strategies grew and developed into the efficient methods that landed her an administrative role at the University of Rochester.

How did targeting get her a job? Keep reading to find out.

Q: What was the biggest challenge you faced in being unemployed?
A: My biggest challenge was that I didn’t know how to use my time efficiently to find companies and job openings that would be a good fit for me.

Q: What job search methods did you use?
A: I looked for work using Internet postings, agencies, and networking to target the academic atmosphere. I did not target specific roles, but where I wanted to work. This opened up ideas and new opportunities.

Q: What tips do you have for job seekers to help increase their success and shorten their length of unemployment?
A: Identify companies or organizations where you want to work. Network as much as possible with people in those organizations and check their job postings daily and apply promptly.
Targeting the corporate world is very different from the academic world. Research the companies. Find out where you feel comfortable. Don’t target jobs. Target places where you would be a good fit.
Also, take advantage of one-on-one and group networking with organizations such as PeerNet and The August Group.

Q: How did RochesterWorks! help you in finding your new position?
A: I attended many workshops as well as the 5 Steps to Rapid Employment program. Every time I went to RochesterWorks! I learned at least one new thing that I could apply to my job campaign.
When I first came to RochesterWorks! I was pleasantly surprised at the variety of programs and took everything I could! The staff helped me with my confidence so that I was as prepared as possible to present who and how I can help in the interview. Even if I was not a good fit or get the job I knew I did my best.

Q: How did you find your new position?
A: I had about one month’s notice prior to losing my job at Comforce so I began to target an academic setting where I would be a good fit.

Q: If you had to do it over again, what would you do differently in your job search?
A: I got a slow start with networking, so I would network early and often!

Q: What led to your success?
A: Persistence, along with applying every bit of advice I received along the way, led to my success.

Q: Do you have any other words of advice for job seekers?
A: For your resume, if you are considering looking for work in an academic setting put your education at the top so that they can see that you already have it. Don’t be shy. Be proud of your training!

In general, there are three main things that I learned about job campaigning:
1. Focus! Know where you want to go.
2. Be persistent! Just keep going.
3. Refine! Take every tip and apply it! The last thing may just be something simple to set you apart from the competition.

Click Here For more information about RochesterWorks! and the programs available to you, then visit our Career Center! Our services are free and walk-in’s are welcome. You do not need to be unemployed to participate. You just need to be a RochesterWorks! member.

