How to Revamp Your Job Search Strategy

29407b3Gary
Workshop Participant

After two months and over one hundred applications Gary realized that his job search needed a change—a change that brought him to RochesterWorks! At first Gary thought RochesterWorks! was only available for those on unemployment, but he soon realized that it is available to help anyone that lives in Monroe County.

Taking the initiative to make a change made the difference in Gary’s successful job search landing him a new job as a Plating Manufacturing Engineer at the Eastman Kodak Company.

Gary learned a lot of lessons during his job search and wants to share them with you today to help you in your own job search.

Keep reading to learn from his experience and find out why it’s valuable to help others along the way!

Q: What was the biggest challenge you faced in being unemployed?
A: I started searching in late September after resigning from a previous job. Initially, using traditional methods, I did not have much luck. After over 100 applications with not a single bite, I learned that getting to the interview today is not what it used to be.

Q: What job search methods did you use?
A: I joined some networking groups and signed up at RochesterWorks to do several workshops.

Q: What tips do you have for job seekers to help increase their success and shorten their length of unemployment?
A: Do the workshops at RochesterWorks You might know most of how job searching works, but there’s always a nugget of information that might make all the difference or you’ll meet someone that can help you get your resume where it needs to be or your mind-set where that needs to be!
One of the biggest challenges in my job search was the lack of feedback and unless you immerse yourself into networking and the workshops at RochesterWorks the lack of feedback can be very demoralizing. You need to find a support group.

Q: How did RochesterWorks! help you in finding your new position?
A: RochesterWorks helped me to revise my resume and LinkedIn profiles and change my focus to utilize networking. The workshops taught me how to reorganize my job search, develop a marketing plan, enhance my resume and better leverage my network of friends and acquaintances.

Q: If you had to do it over again, what would you do differently in your job search?
A: If I had to start over I would have embarked on the process of RochesterWorks sooner. Listen to what you’re being asked to do and do it. I went through 2 1/2 months of job searching before I realized that what I was doing wasn’t working the way it had in the past.

Q: Do you have any other words of advice for job seekers?
A: Network not just for yourself, but also to help others. Realize that it’s not about you and be willing to give more than you take. I learned that the people who were selfless received help back and found work faster than those that went along with a ‘help me’ attitude.

Click Here For more information about RochesterWorks! and the programs available to you, then visit our Career Center! Our services are free and walk-in’s are welcome. You do not need to be unemployed to participate. You just need to be a RochesterWorks! member.

