Why We Do What We Do

On RochesterWorks! Top Workplace 2015 March 27, 2015, RochesterWorks! was designated a Top Workplace in Rochester by the Democrat and Chronicle. When we spoke with our employees–who were the reason we got the award–we asked them to give us some insight into their passion and motivation for their jobs and the Rochester community. Here’s what they said…

Why do you do what you do?”

“It’s gratifying to work for a company that sets out to change someone’s life in a positive way, every day.”

“I do what I do at RochesterWorks! because I love the community outreach and the RochesterWorks! employees.”

I want to make a positive impact on the organization, on our local workforce development system, and on the workforce development community in general.”

“I love working with HR Reps and hiring managers and see the connection for the customers in our system. I love the employees and coworkers.”

I love helping people achieve their goals whether it is employment, training, or referring them to other agencies for further assistance. RochesterWorks! is ‘good people who do good work.’”

I gain fulfillment in helping others that may have significant barriers to employment. There are so many beneficial programs for veterans and I feel very fortunate to be the one to help my clients develop a sound work strategy.”

“I grew up in a very rural area that didn’t have many resources for youth. I’m so impressed with all of the services that are available to our youth here in Rochester, and it’s important to me to make sure that the youth are aware of, and have access to, these resources. I feel that I’m truly making a difference and potentially changing the course of their lives for the better, which in turn helps our community.”

“I chose to work at RochesterWorks!, primarily, so I can be of service to others and work in a job everyday where I’m contributing to the greater good. I find this type of work rewarding and fulfilling.”

“I love helping people make positive changes.”

“I enjoy seeing individuals go from down in the dumps to ready, willing and able to take advantage of all we have to offer.”

“This is my life’s work, to make a difference to people who are struggling to find a job that sustains them and gives them hope. To help them find their voice. At the end of the day I want to be able in some small way to motivate people to get out of their comfort zone and do what they need to do to achieve success.”

To support our Rochester community—I love Rochester. Organizations like RochesterWorks! make our community strong, smart, and innovative. I can’t think of a better place to work because RochesterWorks! “walks the walk” and “talks the talk.” RochesterWorks! is effective in our community because RochesterWorks! makes the employees strong, smart, and innovative. Very grateful!”

“I was on assistance for a while and had a hard time finding work for many years, but I was persistent and I kept moving forward through my WEP assignments all the way through to RochesterWorks!… Caring for people and helping people has become my favorite thing at RochesterWorks! Love, love, love the entire company! Thank you for this opportunity!”

“I enjoy helping people and making a difference in someone’s life, having the opportunity to give someone a chance to gain skills, and the staff I work with.”

“I enjoy helping others and make a difference in other people’s lives.”

I enjoy helping people who are motivated to better themselves through education.”

“I love reaching out to the population I work with. Every time someone comes up to me and says that “Thanks for listening… you make a difference.” That just makes me so happy to work for RochesterWorks!”

“I have utilized RochesterWorks! services several times and attended very instructional and informative workshops. I know what it’s like to be unemployed—the emotions & hoops one has to jump through. I wanted to share with others who are unemployed or searching for a job what I’ve learned and offer encouragement and support to them.”

“I enjoy meeting with people and helping them move forward.”

“I have worked at all three locations and can say that I’ve enjoyed working at all. I truly enjoy helping clients and being able to make a difference in any way. Whether it was setting career goals, working on a resume, referring to workshops or making sure they comply with county requirements. I really enjoy it!!!”

I strive to make an impact on the people that I serve. I like seeing the finished product where I left a person better than I found them.”

“I love working for RochesterWorks! because I have been a client and I value all that I have learned. I share what I learn with others and encourage them to use the resources RochesterWorks! offers. The best part is that I have also been able to work seasonally with the summer youth program. Helping youth does not seem like work. It adds value to my life. It’s my contribution to the “stone soup”. It speaks to that part of my heart that has a need to give back.”

“Helping people who really need it and want it is what it is all about.”

“I love that I get to help support the people in the community where I grew up, and the wonderful people I work with, to help people meet their goals.”

“I appreciate the opportunity to help create defining moments in the lives of the people we serve.”

“I like working here because it’s helping people and making them able to be productive creating productive community and nation.”

I enjoy helping people complete their goals and set them up with the resources they need to be as successful as possible.”

“When I graduated and couldn’t find a job I went to RochesterWorks! and an advisor helped me to revamp my resume. Once I had obtained my master’s degree and worked in Human Resources. I said to myself, ‘I want to be like her, I want to help people find their career and passion and help them succeed.’ I stalked RochesterWorks! website daily until I found the position. I applied and here I am. I love to help people. I enjoy it and am very passionate about it.”

“I do what I do because I feel supported daily. I do what I do because I feel like I make a difference. I do what I do because I know I work with people I can count on.”

“I am passionate about helping others and growing personally and professionally. It’s about guiding those who one day may guide you or someone else in need. I do what I do because I’m granted the freedom and support to do so!”

I like to help people and sometimes getting them to take the first step or next step can be a challenge, but rewarding.”

“I do my job because I enjoy the interaction of the position and the culture of the company. Just a lot of satisfaction with the position.”

“I lost my job and RochesterWorks! helped me, so I applied and they hired me.”

“I just finished college for an AAS in Human Resources. I began applying for jobs in that field, but still wanted to pursue my ‘dream job’ in my field. My instructor forwarded an email for a position with RochesterWorks! I was ecstatic to apply. I am very happy at my site and my hope is to inspire our clients to create a goal to become self-sufficient.”

“I do what I do because it is a challenge and there is a potential to help a lot of people and change lives. What we do allows zero opportunity to get bored and ideas are encouraged.”

“I do what I do here are RochesterWorks! mainly to help others: businesses, job seekers, co-workers. I enjoy coming to work every day! There’s nothing better than connecting a business and candidate and it results in employment. I also love helping my coworkers. They’re so knowledgeable, caring, and fun.”

“Our youth are at the center of everything we do. We believe in the potential of our youth and we do everything we can to support our youth to succeed. On a personal level I enjoy the one on one contact with the youth. I enjoy speaking with our youth and providing guidance to them when it is appropriate. It is great working with the youth since they are new to the workforce and are fresh and open to ideas. On a basic level what I enjoy the most about my job is feeling that I am contributing to making a difference in another person’s life especially our youth. Each day I strive to learn something new or to make an adjustment to improve a process to continually make sure we provide the best customer service to our youth.”

“To change minds and change lives.”

Click here for more information about RochesterWorks!

