RochesterWorks! Navigators Invest in Rochester’s Youth

Many youth in our community want to be self-sufficient but lack the resources and skills necessary to achieve this result. To address this issue a plan was created through the Navigator Model to help youth move toward self sufficiency. At its core the model enables adults to partner with youth along their path to self sufficiency. Workforce Investment Act (WIA) program services are offered through RochesterWorks! Career Centers and contracted community partners called Navigators. Navigators help youth ages 16-21 who have barriers to employment and education, helping them to navigate systems and connect to resources that will eliminate or minimize barriers to employment and education. Navigators will also coordinate with the RochesterWorks! youth team to provide career assessment and counseling. RochesterWorks! is currently funding 16 Navigator positions within nine organizations in Monroe County.
Keep reading to see how our Youth Navigators have made a difference in the lives of our latest success stories!

Fabrialle, RochesterWorks! youth Success Story

Fabrialle M. began the Urban League of Rochester’s YouthBuild Navigator Program in the Fall of 2014.  While enrolled in TASC class she increased on the Post-TABE test.  She then became OSHA-10 Construction Safety and Health Certified, earned the Basics of Building Science Certificate, and the Pre-Apprenticeship Certification Training (PACT).  In February 2015, she participated in the RochesterWorks! Interviews That Get You the Job Workshop.  At that time, she began a paid internship through US Ceiling Corps.  Subsequently, in March 2015, Fabrialle was hired as a full-time employee by US Ceiling Corps.

Jackie“My name is Jacqueline and I have been on my own for a very long time. My mother died when I was 15 years old and I had no one else.  I was homeless and had to stay at lots of shelters. Growing up was very hard for me. I could remember having nowhere to go and no food to eat. It took me a very long time to get my life together. Finding out about The Center for Youth helped me do so. I dropped out of school in the 11th grade because I had trouble with living situations and had to find a job. Now I have my GED thanks to all the staff at The Center for Youth and the tutors that were very patient and helpful. While enrolled in the WIA youth program I completed the PCA (Personal Care Aide) program. I also went from living in different shelters every month to now having my own house and paying my own rent with the money I make from working without any DSS help, which I am very proud of. I have my permit–thanks to the Center for Youth for helping with that–and I will be getting my driver’s license at the end of next month. So overall I’m grateful for where I am and where I have come from and most importantly I’m thankful for everyone at The Center for Youth.”

Click Here for more information about RochesterWorks! and our Youth programs.

