How a 5 Step Program Helped Me Find a Job

Say “Hello!” to Catherine, Jim, and JoAnn—three graduates from the RochesterWorks! 5 Steps to Rapid Employment Program.

Now, “What is 5 Steps to Rapid Employment?” you may ask. Instead of hearing it from our perspective, keep reading and learn more about it from graduates who have used the principles they have learned to find a job.

Catherine, Safety Net Outreach Coordinator
November 2014 Graduate
What was the biggest challenge you faced while being unemployed?
Staying Hopeful
What was the most difficult part of your job search prior to taking 5 Steps to Rapid Employment and how did the program help you to overcome it?
Not know where to look. It made me think outside the box in approaching job search.
How did you benefit from the 5 Steps Program?
It taught me how to think as my own employer.
Describe the 5 Steps Program in Your Own Words.
It challenges your beliefs around the job market and helps you to clarify what job you really want.
What tips do you have for other job seekers?
Network, keep an open mind, and think outside the box.

Jim, Program Manager
May 2015 Graduate
What was the biggest challenge you faced while being unemployed?
Managing the fear and the anxiety. I never realized how much my self-image was wrapped in what I do for a living and providing for my family. I knew it in my head, but to have that part of my life taken away was a real struggle for me.
What was the most difficult part of your job search prior to taking 5 Steps to Rapid Employment and how did the program help you to overcome it?
Not really having a plan just knowing that I NEEDED another job. The short version is I learned the difference between a job search and a job campaign. The difference isn’t subtle…it changed the way I look at the job market and will stay with me for the rest of my life.
How did you benefit from the 5 Steps Program?
It changed the way I view my career and perceptions of the job market. What was once daunting is now a whole world of possibilities.
Describe the 5 Steps Program in your own words.
The 5 Steps to Rapid Employment Program provides the tools to conquer the modern job market, but the real key to the program is your willingness to learn, adapt, and put forth the effort to succeed.
If you had to do it all over again, what would you have done differently?
I waited too long. I knew I wanted to start job searching years before I was laid off. If I could do it all over again, I would have started my career change 5 years ago.
What tips do you have for other job seekers?
Go to RochesterWorks! right away to start work on your resume, plan out your job campaign with an emphasis on networking, and stay positive.

JoAnn, Permits and Application Administrator
October 2014 Graduate
What was the biggest challenge you faced while being unemployed?
My resume was so challenging. I was an elementary teacher for 31 years and I had a difficult time believing that there could be another career that I could be hired for and successful in. Networking was way out of my comfort zone. My counselor at RochesterWorks! and the coach I hired helped with that. The hardest thing of all was to work unemployment like it was my job. Some days I felt I wasn’t getting anywhere. I was scared, discouraged, and wishing I could just give up, but I worked at it every day and even did “homework” each night. I had a list of things to do and I followed through with them.
What was the most difficult part of your job search prior to taking 5 Steps to Rapid Employment and how did the program help you to overcome it?
I had no idea what to do, where to start, or how to think about all the things that needed to be done in a positive way. The whole thing was so scary and overwhelming to me and the fear was paralyzing. 5 Steps helped me because every day there were things to learn and homework to practice and as I did the work, the picture of what needed to be done became clearer and I felt hope that I could do it and I did.
How did you benefit from the 5 Steps Program?
Confidence and knowledge.
Describe the 5 Steps Program in Your Own Words.
The program teaches you several important things you must do to be successful in finding a job quickly. The first step is to rethink your beliefs, change your thinking, and you can change your life. It helped me redefine my own reality with a more positive outlook. I was thinking that I could not do this. The second step helps you get in touch again with your life values and goals. This helps you decide what you want out of life and what you want to give back. Step three is writing your value-based resume that outlines what you can do for the company and what value you have to your new employer—way more challenging than it sounds, but worthwhile!. Step four is figuring out your action plan and making an action plan with goals for nearly every hour of the day—which is the recipe for the work you need to do daily while employed. It maps out your days with several jobs to accomplish every day. Step five is about how to close the deal and how to keep making goals and checking your progress to help you keep your new job. You learn lots of new things every day and do hours of work for homework and practice the skills presented. It is intense, but it helps you succeed, so it is worth the hard work.
If you had to do it all over again, what would you have done differently? I would try not to be scared. I would focus my energy sooner, rather than later. I wasted a lot of energy by worrying.
What tips do you have for other job seekers? Follow your heart, do your work diligently, network with as many people as you can, thank people along the way, help others if you have an idea that might work for them, and DON’T get down on yourself. Getting in touch with your value to a company is what you need to sell and market to a company.

Click here to learn more about RochesterWorks! or click here for hours and locations so you can stop by for a visit. To learn more about the 5 Steps to Rapid Employment Program click here and register for an Information Session.

